How to Stay Compliant
Who needs to be licensed?
Any identifiable, individual person who is permitted to access any part of a production portal is considered an authorized user, and needs to be licensed.
What do I do if I am not in compliance?
If you have exceeded the number of authorized users, you will need to purchase additional licenses.
You can find out how many active users there are in the portal by doing the following steps:
1) Click on Portal Tools in the Navigation Tree
2) Click on Manage Users
3) Click on User Manager
4) The “Number of Active Users: XXX” displays the number of active users in the portal
Please contact your Customer Success Manager if you need to increase your subscription count.
Cleaning Up Users
Exporting User List:
If you would like to export a list of all users in the portal please refer to this KB: How to export a list of all users in the portal
This would be helpful if you have a large number of employees and would like to be able to filter through quickly.
Reviewing users pulling from Active Directory:
What is auto creation? Enabling automatic user creation means that anyone who is an active user of your domain will have an account created, should one not exist, upon their first log-in into the portal. This means that if you enable this in tandem with having your portal set to use Windows Authentication, the users account will automatically be created upon entering the URL of the portal and they will be signed-in immediately as well. To set up auto user creation refer to this KB.
If you find users in your User Manager list that are not employees of the organization, they may have been created due to a mass upload during implementation. This may have resulted in additional ‘users’ that are not actual users. These ‘dummy users’ can be deleted following the steps above (How to Delete Users from the Portal). These users will not auto create after deletion unless they that username and password are used to login to the portal.
Deleting Users from the Portal:
There are two different ways that a user can be deleted from the Portal: Delete Normally, and Delete Permanently. In both cases, the process begins by using the dropdown menu next to a user’s name in the User Manger, then clicking Delete User. You will then be given the option to select which type of delete action you’d like to perform.
The Delete Normally option is frequently used for users who leave the organization, but their account stays in the portal for historical purposes. For example, if John Smith writes a comment in a Conversation, after John has been “Deleted Normally”, John’s post in the Conversation will remain exactly how it is.
The Delete Permanently option is used to completely wipe out any record of this user existing in the Portal. In the example above, if John Smith is “Deleted Permanently”, his Conversation post will switch to be submitted by “Deleted User”.